KU Center for Research on Learning

KU Center for Research on Learning

DAS Projects


About the Project

With a two-year grant from the U.S. Department of Education, Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) has established seven pilot sites. Each site has the goal of increasing the number and percentage of students who transition from GED courses to post-secondary education or vocational training. These post-secondary tracks include academic and vocational programs at community colleges, technical colleges and universityes. While the sevon sites differ in their emphasis for improved transition, all sites are devloping intensive curricula, training instructors and implementing transition support services. The sites consist of adult learning centers, community colleges and, in some instances, technical colleges. Together, they are working towards the goal of increasing the number of students who continue their education after completing the GED.

Models for Transition
Below are models that are being used to increase the likelihood of transition.

  • Advanced classes
    Highly qualified instructors (frequently, these are adjunct instructors at the community college) teach reading, writing and math skills that are being the level of what is needed to pass the GED.

  • Transition Class
    This course helps students indentify their strengths, learn about career options, apply for admissions and financial aid, become familiar with the community collee, learn study skills and time management skills.

  • Transition Advisor
    the advisor works with students one-on-one to hep them identify their interests, research programs, apply for admissions and financial aid, meet key people in relevant college offices, buy necessary books and find necessary support services.

  • In addition to these elements, each site has its own unique approach to Next Step since each has its own blend of students, program strengths, resources and local economy.

Projects Details

Model Site Locations:

  • Butler Community College
  • Garden City Community College
  • Hutchinson Community College
  • Johnson County Community College
  • Kansas City Kansas Community College
  • Neosho County Community College
  • Seward County Community College